You can begin your own business in 15 states, including California, but you will need to obtain a locksmith license in order to operate legally. A local locksmith license is seen as an authority in the industry and a valuable asset to the business. There are also advanced licenses available, which enable locksmiths to specialize in certain areas, such as electronic security systems. These advanced licenses can double or even triple your locksmith business’s revenue, and they allow you to market in smaller niches.
To start your application, visit the California Bureau of Locksmith Regulation’s website and complete the application form. You must submit fingerprints, which is required by law. The fees for both the LCO and LOC are $330, but the application fee is only $200 after passing the exam. You should remember that incomplete applications will delay the process, and you will lose your application fees if you abandon your application.
Depending on the type of locksmith you wish to become, you will need to complete a training course. These courses typically last up to three months, and will involve hands-on experience. You will also need to pass an examination that demonstrates you have acquired the skills necessary to become a locksmith. However, if you do not have any prior experience in this field, you will need to obtain a license before you can begin working.
If you plan to open a business in California, you will need to get a locksmith license from the Department of Consumer Affairs. This license is required by law for all business owners, employees, and contractors. You may also be required to obtain a business license from your local government. However, these are just a few of the steps to getting your locksmith license in California. The process will take several weeks, so be patient and do your research.
Upon receiving a professional locksmith license, you will need to set up a physical business address. While you can use a mailbox service or post office box as your address of record, you must have a business address. If you’re a self-employed locksmith, you’ll apply as a sole proprietor. However, you need to file separate applications for each entity you plan to work under.
After getting a locksmith license in California, you will need to fill out an application for the licensing department. This will cost $500. In addition to this, you will also need to fill out a Locksmith Company Live Scan form. Each employee of the locksmith company must complete a separate application form. Each form will be submitted for signature by the Live Scan operator. This service will charge a fee per form, so it is recommended that you hire an attorney if you’re not sure how to get your locksmith license.